Recent Reads…

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot… and by a lot, I mean several hours every work day (I get paid to read when the kids I work with are able to work independently on their high school credit lessons). I’ve been trying to read equal amounts of certain genres… from classics, to current popular fiction, to random books that look good on one of my many excursions to Chapters.

My favourite read of late was The Time Traveler’s Wife. I absolutely loved this book. It was so different from all of the other romantic books out there. It was nice to see a marriage and life portrayed as something that isn’t always perfect. There were fights, love, and hardships. It really made me think about my own life and what’s important to me, which is what I think is the most important identifying characteristic of a good book. It should make you think and question your own life.  Has anyone else read this book or have an opinion on it? I think what I really loved about this book was that it left hope at the end. I won’t give it away in case people haven’t read it and want to, but it ends on a sad, but beautiful note.

I’ve also been reading the Sookie Stackhouse Vampire series… They’re pretty good. They’re entertaining and a quick read, but they don’t really make me think about my own life. Sure, they make me occasionally question my own mortality, but I’m having difficulty identifying with any of the characters. They’re all “supernatural beings.” There really aren’t any main characters who are human. Everyone is either a vampire, or a telepath, or a shape shifter. For those who don’t know, this series is what the show “True Blood” is based on. The first season matched the first book pretty well, but the second season has strayed quite a bit from the book. I’m also kind of weirded out with myself for jumping on this whole “vampire” bandwagon. I read Twilight and found they were entertaining. They did take me a long time to get through though. At least they made me think a little bit more than the Sookie Stackhouse series though.  What does everyone think about this recent addiction to all things vampire? Are all of these new shows and authors simply jumping on the “Twilight” wagon and hoping to glom onto the success?

Leave a Reply

