Zombieland…

Zombieland was… awesome! It was nice to see a movie that was just meant to be funny. There is, of course, a love story and a little bit of hope left at the end, just like any good movie, but it also made me laugh… a rare thing in today’s movie industry. It was nice to see a movie that was funny… like actually funny versus stupid, disgusting, sexualized funny. Don’t get me wrong, I thought the 40-year old virgin was funny, but it was also kind of weird. Zombieland was just funny.

I was also happy to see Woody Harrelson in a role that was tailor-made for him. He hasn’t done much lately, but his role in the movie was phenomenal. They could have used any other actors to fill the other roles, but if he hadn’t been in it, the movie would have tanked.  I must admit that the twinkie obsession was a little weird though… I guess they had to give all of the main characters some “goal” though….

I’ve read mixed reviews about this film… Did you like it? Hate it? Think it was hilarious? Think it was the dumbest thing you’ve ever seen?

One thought on “Zombieland…

  1. At first I was afraid it was going to be another movie which just includes gore for the sake of gore. The first ten minutes included several uses of intense gore, but as the movie went on it seemed to restrain itself from using gore so excessively. Maybe the gore in the opening sequence was just used to establish the level of threat which zombies pose to the survivors. As the movie moved on, the humor picked up, and I found myself laughing out loud on a regular basis, which is something I haven’t done watching a movie in a long time. Overall, I feel like it was very much worth my time and my money, so long as you go in understanding that most zombie movies have at least a certain level of gore.

Leave a Reply

