The Week From Hell….

This week has been… insane. There’s no other way to say it. It’s been super busy and it feels like everything is happening at once.

Last week, my cousin was killed in a car crash. We weren’t ridiculously close, but I’ll still miss him. Worse yet, his 8-year-old daughter was also in the car with him. Her right arm and leg was crushed and she needed a lot of surgery to get them back to normal. On top of that, the left side of her face has several broken bones (jaw, cheekbone, and browbone). The doctors also discovered a blood clot behind her eye moving towards her brain. They had to freeze her eye for several days to prevent the clot from moving until the swelling in her face went down enough for them to operate. Luckily, they were able to remove the blood clot today. She’s starting to feel a bit better, well, as well as she can feel knowing that her father was killed in the accident and that she’s got a lot of surgery ahead of her. I’ve been trying not to think too much about Michael’s death. It just brings everything into perspective and, to be honest, I don’t have time for that right now. Every time I think about him, I think about how many things he still wanted to do with his life. Thinking about that not only makes me sad, it also makes me question my own priorities, which is something that I don’t have time to preoccupy myself with right now. I know that sounds bad, but I just don’t have time to focus.

It was also my Mom’s birthday on Sunday. We tried to make it really special for her, but she was helping my Aunt and Uncle as much as she could. I also had a fight with my sister that I’m not really in the mood to resolve. I’m constantly the one having to apologize, even when I’ve done nothing wrong in the first place,  just because I HATE drama and fighting. I know it takes more energy to hold onto a grudge than it does to just simply let it go, but I don’t have time to have a long, drawn-out conversation about things.

In addition to all of this, I seem to be developing some kind of eye infection. One of the ladies that I work with has an eye infection and my eye is now doing the same thing that hers was. It’s blood shot, itchy, and runny. I also have a sinus infection, which I’ve had for weeks now, but I don’t have a doctor in Guelph and I can’t justify taking a day off to go to my doctor in Thorndale.

Anyways, I’m going to try ending this post on an optimistic note. Next week can only be better. My on-call is over on Tuesday morning and we have a Christmas party for my work next weekend. I’m also looking forward to getting some cleaning done this weekend, which always seems to make me feel less stressed. Clutter just bugs me. Anyways, I’m going to go relax and watch “The Office” before bed. Here’s hoping that I get a good night’s sleep! 🙂

Leave a Reply

