My Decade in Review…

Here is my decade in review, which was borrowed from Leah of fiveblondes.com.

In 2000,  I was in grade 8. I graduated from Leesboro Central School along with 25 other people. My world view was very small at this point. I had an amazing family with the most wonderful parents anyone could ask for. My best friend was Genny and we used to write long, long, long notes to each other every night. I was also constantly on the phone. I had my first serious boyfriend and was devastated when he broke up with me for someone else. I was convinced that I loved him and was heartbroken when it ended.

In 2001,  I started high school. My friends changed completely. I took all academic courses and rarely saw any of my old friends anymore. I joined the music program at LDSS and became an official “band geek.” I had several boyfriends, none of which really meant anything. I had a best friend (male) fall “in love” with me. He was heartbroken when I rejected him and things were just never the same again.

In 2002, I met my future husband. I always thought that he was cute, but I had no idea that this was the person that I would be spending the rest of my life with.  I took my first Psychology course, which I loved. I developed an obsession with Amelia Earhart and read every thing that I could find about her. My favourite quote was “Well-behaved women rarely make history.” Despite this quote, I remained my quiet, studious, and conscientious self. I thrived at school and aced every class and test.

In 2003, I made my first trip without my family. I ventured to Ottawa with my class and fell in love with exploring. I became a little less boy crazy and only dated one boy the entire school year.  I spent some quality time with my future husband on that trip to Ottawa and learned what it was like to have a HUGE crush. Unfortunately, Tyler was completely oblivious to all of this, lol.

In 2004, I graduated from high school with honours and started University. I began working on my Honours Psychology degree and loved every single course. I took an English course as well and began reading even more than before. I’ve always been a bookworm, but this was the year that I read over 100 books in 11 months.  I also started dating Tyler and fell completely in love with him. I met my best friend and spent a great deal of time hanging out at home with my mother.

In 2005, I kind of figured out what I wanted to do with my life. I read about serial killers, child molesters, and child abusers. I added another major in Criminology and decided I wanted to spend my life helping others. I continued dating Tyler and learned that he was “the one.” I lost my great-grandmother and was completely devastated. I thought that things would never be the same. I learned the hard way that you should never put things off because you never know when it can all be taken away from you.

In 2006, Tyler asked me to marry him. We both knew that it would take us a while to actually get down that aisle, but we wanted to make the commitment to each other. I continued my schooling and worked in a greenhouse for the second summer in a row. I loved working there and quickly rose up to take a higher position. I learned many things from the people there and eventually learned how to complete many aspects of running a small business. I even got my sister a job there and really enjoyed working with her. I ate lunch with her every day I could, and since I made the break schedule, it happened quite often. I lost my grandfather, who was only 63, and was completely devastated by this. It tore me apart for quite some time and I occasionally still pick up the phone to call him.

In 2007, I started my last year of University. By this time, I was getting tired of being in school and knew that I didn’t have it in me to work on my Masters or PhD right away. I had always dreamed of being a Psychologist, but I knew that there were other things that I wanted to do first. I grew even closer with my mother and spent as much time with her as possible. I had always been a bit of a home body and a Daddy’s girl, but it was during this time that I first saw my Mom as my best friend.

In 2008, I finished University and graduated with an Honours double major in Psychology and Criminology. I didn’t know which field I wanted to focus on the most, but I knew that I would find something eventually. I moved to Guelph to live with Tyler, which was an extremely huge deal for me. I had never been away from my parents for more than 2 days at a time and it was one of the hardest things that I’ve ever had to do. I started working at a small retail store shortly after graduation because I couldn’t decide exactly what I wanted to do. In November, I finally found a job at Avalon, a treatment centre for teenage girls with severe psychological and sociological problems. I instantly loved working there and fell in love with the kids, even though they were rude and aggressive quite often.

In 2009, I finally got to marry my sweetheart. We got married at a beautiful church in my hometown in front of 85 of our closest friends and family. We had a wonderful reception and I definitely got closer with my sisters. I started helping my sister plan her wedding and forgot why her and I fought so often as kids. I continued working at Avalon and got two promotions within a 2 month period. I received full time days and got to work with the girls one-on-one at school. I really love my job, despite the obvious hardships.

I figured I would end this post with a few predictions for the next decade. I think that Tyler and I will buy a house and have at least two kids, hopefully three. I really hope that we have two girls and one boy, but I know that I’ll be happy with whatever we have. I think that we’ll move back to the Thorndale area and both find good jobs. I may even decide to go back to school to work on a masters degree or a PhD. I could see Tyler designing computer software or even video games. Anyways, that’s all I have for now. Leave a comment if you have any predictions of your own!

Leave a Reply

