Married Life…

I’ve had a lot of people asking me lately how married life is. It seems to be a lot of my co-workers and friends who are not yet married, which makes me think that they just want to talk about weddings and marriage, but I figured that I would answer their questions with a post on here.

Married life is… wonderful. However, it’s much the same as my life pre-wedding. I still go work everyday, eat dinner with my husband, do some things around the house, and then go to bed. We lived together for over a year before the wedding, so it’s not a huge change for us to continue seeing each other everyday. We’ve been making a real effort to continue our “date nights”, but Tyler is my best friend in the whole world, so I have no problem with sitting around and just hanging out with him. I truly love watching TV, playing video games (The New Super Mario Brothers for wii is our current favourite), and just sitting around with him. There’s a strange pleasure that I get from just lying on the bed reading while he works away at the computer.

One thing about being married that has changed completely is the whole “baby” issue. I don’t think that I go a single day without someone asking me if I’m pregnant yet. Every time I complain at work about a headache or stomach ache, one of my co-workers says “Maybe you’re pregnant.” I think that the constant asking of this question is why I constantly have babies on the brain. It’s hard to not think about something when it’s constantly being brought up. I even had several family members ask me at Christmas if I was pregnant yet. Even my Uncle, who I’m extremely close with and knows how much I want kids, asked me if I had any “special announcements.” One thing that is bugging me about this is the fact that I wouldn’t just announce to my whole family that I was pregnant while standing around the kitchen island eating shrimp, which I know that you’re not supposed to eat during pregnancy, lol.  Trust me, when I am pregnant, I will be the one freaking out and telling everyone ASAP! Hopefully some co-workers will read this and lay off with the questions. When I finally am pregnant, they will be some of the first to know, not because I feel so close to all of them that I would tell them before others, but because my work can be extremely hazardous (i.e., restraining aggressive adolescents) and I wouldn’t want to risk hurting the baby. Anyways, I think that’s enough ranting about babies and pregnancy.

Married life is wonderful, but it’s not a huge change. My husband is the most wonderful man in the whole world and I’m super excited to spend my life with him. He’s absolutely amazing! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Married Life…

  1. That is so cute!
    As soon as the third of my three older sisters got married people were asking me when my boyf and I were. Literally within 5 minutes of walking out of the Church at Mic’s wedding I was getting hounded. A few months ago my boyf’s mom’s best friend told everybody that I was pregnant … that was an awkward phone call to his mom. It was all quite embarrassing actually!
    I hope you have a baby when you are good and ready!

  2. People get so wedding crazy as soon as one person gets married! It’s insane!

    One of the people that I went to high school with started a rumour just before my wedding that I was pregnant! I don’t know why this person would even care as we weren’t really friends in the first place. I don’t understand why everyone is so interested in other people’s lives.

    Thanks for the support Leah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

