Organizing Binge…

In the past few weeks, I have been on an organizing binge! I have been focusing mostly on the living room up to this point, but I have made it my goal to tackle the bedroom this weekend. I’ve already sorted through everything that was on our bookcase and in all of our drawers. I now have a completely empty drawer and I threw out half a black garbage bag full of stuff off of the bookcase and out of the drawers. Even weirder, is that I’m super-excited to be working on this project. I used to HATE cleaning my room and sorting through the clothes in my closet, but now I actually enjoy spending my weekends this way.

This weekend’s project was cleaning out my closet. I didn’t really manage to get rid of much, but I did get everything organized. I still have a few things that I need to find a home for, but it’s much better than it was. I have posted before and after pictures below. Next up on my list is Tyler’s closet and our nightstands. Mine is FULL of dozens of bottles of perfume and more make-up than I ever thought I would own. The weird part of it is that I’ve never really been a huge make-up girl. I’ve worn the same foundation, blush, and mascara for years, and I only own about 5-6 different eye shadow palates, so I don’t know where all of this is coming from. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to work on those two areas this weekend as well. My ultimate goal is to find every item in our bedroom a place. I find clutter very stressful and organization will definitely make it easier to move should the situation arise in the near future.

I’ve also included a photo of my new and improved organized bookcase!

My Closet – Before

My Closet – After

I’ve also decided to include a picture of what I wish my closet could look like. I hate how small my closet is!

I think my new found love of organizing is just one more sign that I’m getting older. I don’t know what I’m going to do with my time once I get everything organized. More likely than not, by the time I’ve finally got everything the way I want it, Tyler or myself will get a job elsewhere and we’ll have to move, lol. It’s okay though, that’s what my ultimate desire is anyways.

Leave a Reply

