My 2011 Reading List…

These are the books that I’m hoping to read or re-read in 2011. Some of them are books I read a long time ago and some are books that I’ve been wanting to read for a long time. Maybe I’m being a little overzealous with how many books I’ve chosen, but we’ll see how I fare.

1. Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky- I started reading this in November 2010 and just cannot seem to get into it. I’ve put it aside so many times, but I’ve heard that it’s great once you get into it. It also received a lot of awards, so hopefully I’ll get to a good part and be able to push through it.

2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I read this when I was in grade 9 and I’ve wanted to read it again ever since.

3. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – I have never actually read Little Women, but I’ve made a goal for myself to read all of the true classics at some point.

4. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

5. The Nanny Diaries by Emma McLaughlin

6. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

7. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

8. Still Life by Joy Fielding

9. Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – This didn’t immediately pop out at me as my kind of book, but there’s been a lot of hype about it lately, so I thought I’d give it a try.

10. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larrson

11. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides

12. The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs

13. Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

14. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

15. Magic Hour by Kristin Hannah

16. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

17. Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe – I read this book in University and it was AMAZING! I literally could not put it down. If you’re very anti-slavery, as I am, you might be disgusted about how they treated slaves in the 1800s, but this book is a real eye-opener to how it was back then.

18. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

19. Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice

20. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

As you can see, I have varied tastes in literature. I’ll read anything from science fiction to classic literature to historical novels to things that totally aren’t my style. Hopefully I’ll get to read all of these and more, but that will involve work being a little bit less demanding and my body getting back into a more normal routine. I love reading and I find it very calming, so I hope I can spend some more time reading this year than I have in previous years! To see more about my reading habits and tastes, check out my goodreads account at http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/3174710-sarah

What are you planning on reading this year? Any specific books? Or are you just hoping to read more?

Leave a Reply

