House Hunting…

House hunting is one of the hardest and most stressful things I have ever done. It’s hard to find something that both Tyler and I love and that we can see ourselves living in for several years. We were literally THISCLOSE to making an offer on a house last week, but Tyler’s Dad went through it with us and brought forward some concerns at the last minute. It was a nice house esthetically, but it had some electrical issues and apparently the owners had cut through a floor joust when they did some remodeling. I think that our “requirements” have really been limiting us as to what we can even look at. We originally wanted to find a house in one of three small towns around our parents. That means that, in our price range, there are only SIX houses to choose from. Take away the two in my hometown because they’re just too old-fashioned and need too much work. The one in the second town is also very old-fashioned. Then that leaves 3 in the third town. The one is at the very top of our price range, but looks nice. The other two are less money, but they’re smaller and only have one bathroom. We’re going to view those three homes on Friday afternoon.

Tyler and I have also decided to extend our house search into specific areas in London. There are a few newer subdivisions that are in good neighbourhoods that we are going to start looking at. We have two appointments on Friday morning for these and we’re really hoping that they pay off. I would LOVE to be able to have an offer accepted by the end of March. I just can’t believe how quickly the months are flying by. It seems like time is just zooming past me and kind of leaving me stuck in the same spot.

The outside of this home is my current favourite, but most of them look very similar on the inside because they’re all fairly new and most of them are by the same builder.

What we really want is 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a nice area/neighbourhood in which to raise a family. I also don’t want to have to move once we find out I’m pregnant with the second child. It finally feels like things are starting to fall into place, but I just wish they would hurry up and settle into place already. I really thought that 2010 was going to be “our year” and I was SO disappointed when it wasn’t. Now I’m starting to worry that 2011 won’t be “our year” either because it’s already mid-March and things are still stalled. We’re so close that I can taste it, but I can’t stand the waiting anymore. It’s driving me bananas!

Let’s pray that Friday goes well and we can find our house soon. I’d LOVE to be able to come back to my blog in a week and say that we’ve made an offer or purchased a house!

One thought on “House Hunting…

  1. Good luck! 2011 can still be your year! I originally wanted to live in the country too but I find that I really like living in London, it’s nice being so close to everything.

Leave a Reply

