Times Are A-Changing….

Today is my second day home alone before work. Tyler started his new job yesterday and I’m so used to having him home in the mornings with me before work that I’m still not sure what to do with myself. Yesterday  he started a bit late so that his new work could set everything up for him and today he started at his usual time. I’ve been trying my best to get up with him in the mornings so that I can get my day going AND see him for a little bit before work. I think that Thursdays are going to suck the most for us because he leaves for work at 7:30am and I have to work until 10:30pm, which is now his new bedtime. Our plan is for me to meet him for lunch every Friday though, so hopefully that will get me through my long Thursday shifts. I don’t get to take him out tomorrow though because he has a big (catered) lunch with everyone at his work and the US President of his company.

I spent all of yesterday cleaning our room and then doing laundry. Then I went into town early to see my sister’s new puppies, but I don’t know what I’m going to do today. I have to wash Tyler’s new work clothes before we take them in to be hemmed and I’m supposed to search through some packed boxes for something, but other than that, I don’t know what to do. I guess I really should be packing since we move in 43 days, but I have no motivation to do that, lol.

Hopefully this whole new position thing works out for me in October so that I can have day hours with Tyler. Right now I’m covering a maternity leave contract, so I’m hoping that either the person I’m covering for doesn’t come back or my boss finds some sort of a new position for me in London. One of my bosses told me that she doesn’t want me to go back to Parkhill in October and I’m really hoping that she meant she’d find a Program Manager position or something for me in London come the end of my contract. She told me that my last PM told her that she should just give the position to me because I was basically doing her job for her, but I don’t know if that’s what’s going on or what. I felt like it was when the conversation occurred at the end of March, but now I’m doubting myself and I don’t know what’s going to happen. One things for sure though – I don’t want to go back to Parkhill. I mean, I liked what I was doing there, but the hours were HORRIBLE (only late evenings and working 2 out of 3 weekends) and there was so much politics going on out there. A lot of the staff weren’t very friendly and when the hours got cut back because we didn’t have as many clients, I felt like no one was willing to help me out. I felt like I was pulled in too many directions and it kind of soured my experience out there. I guess we’ll just have to see what October brings. I just hate playing the waiting game to know something about my own life!

Anyways, that’s my rant for today. I just wish that I knew where my job was headed, but I’m SO proud of Tyler for getting this full-time position in London. He’s got day hours, makes about the same money as me, and it seems like a pretty good place to work! Only 43 days until we get the house means that I’d better move my ass with this whole packing thing! Everything is EVERYWHERE!

One thought on “Times Are A-Changing….

  1. I bet once you live in the new house you’ll feel differently. In Toronto we lived in an apartment that we didn’t love because we were saving to buy a house instead of decorating our apartment. I hated that Kent got home a few hours later than me. Now that I’m off all time with the babe and in our home, I laugh at my Toronto self. I love being home now even after Casey goes to bed and Kent won’t be home for a couple of hours. Once you have a place you’re happy in you’ll feel better!

Leave a Reply

