Kitchen: Before and After

I have been ridiculously busy with work and our house and everything extra that the summer entails and just realized that I have yet to do any posts about the house since the weekend we moved in!

So far, we’re completely done the kitchen. We’re really close on the bedroom, living room, and dining room, and hopefully we’ll finish them up this week and I can do a few more posts about the house next week.

I’ve included a picture of the kitchen before we moved in and then 3 of what it looks like now. We loved the colour of the kitchen, so we decided not to paint it. We’ve done a few minor things, but other than that, we’ve just unpacked all of our kitchen stuff.

We’ve also made a message board that’s posted below. We’ve had a lot of people ask us about it, so I thought I’d share some details. We purchased the black board squares over a year ago at a store in Vaughn Mills Mall called De Serres. We also got the fancy chalk-paint pens from there as well. The idea is to stick them to your wall and apparently they come off really easy, but we were a bit worried, so we went to Michaels and purchased a frame. We’ve put the black board squares directly on the glass, which seems to work perfectly. It was a bit of a challenge to get the squares to fit together perfectly and I thank God that my husband is one of the most patient men in the world (I did the first two squares and then gave up, lol). The whole thing cost us about $50, but we had a coupon for the frame. We absolutely love it. It keeps everything organized and it’s a fun way to pass messages along since Tyler and I sometimes work opposite shifts. You’ll also notice that I’ve left Tyler a message saying that I love him and calling him my “chickadee” – I literally have about 100 cutesy nicknames for Tyler, but that’s a blog post all on it’s own.

Anything that anyone likes about our kitchen or any suggestions for improvements? I think my favourite thing currently is the dishwasher. My parents have one, but we weren’t allowed to use it growing up, so I’ve always had to do dishes by hand. I’m also in love with our message board, but I think I’ve talked enough about it for now, lol.

Hopefully I’ll finish the living room this week as planned, but it’s Tyler’s birthday on Saturday, so I’m not going to give up celebrating that for painting, lol.

Kitchen - Before

Our island and the view into the living room. I mostly just wanted to put this one up because you can see my puppy in the corner, lol.

Kitchen - After

Tyler and I made this message board for the kitchen. We've had a lot of buzz about it, so I thought I'd share some details.

Leave a Reply

