Things I’ve learned since buying a house…

There have been some major things that I have learned since buying a house. Some of them are good, some of them are bad, but they’re all a life experience.

1. Getting mail is not really that exciting – When I was a kid, I LOVED getting mail. My grandmother would send me cards and I even tried to have a penpal a few times. Getting mail made me feel special when I was little. Now we get bills and so much junk mail that I sometimes dread going to the mailbox. If I get one more Papa John’s pizza coupon, I’m going to scream.

2. Owning your own home is SO much more work than you anticipate – My biggest thing that I notice all the time is cutting the lawn. Who knew grass grew so fast? There’s also trimming the bushes, shoveling snow, painting the walls, and raking up all the leaves. Oh and putting the garbage out. I always took it for granted that one of my parents would do this stuff and when you’re in an apartment, you can’t paint and you don’t have to do any exterior maintenance stuff.

3. Owning costs SO much more than renting – I know that we’ll own this beautiful house at the end of our mortgage, but there is so much more to owning than renting. Who knew that you had to set up a ton of accounts with deposits for everything? London Hydro charged me a $280 deposit plus a $60 account set-up fee! That doesn’t include ANY electricity or water. Union Gas charged us a $250 deposit! Cause we’re not going to pay you $1000s over the years to heat our home. There’s also the fact that I now have to find time to pay bills all the time. Every company is different when it comes to setting up automatic withdrawals and there are always so many phone calls to make! I don’t know how people did this before the internet and online banking. I can’t imagine having to go into the bank all the time.

4. Being alone in a house is so different from being alone in an apartment – I’ve never really been a person who likes to be alone. Even when Tyler was working in Guelph and I got home an hour before him, I never really liked it. I tend to get bored easily and only indulge in so many one-person activities. Being alone in a house is so much weirder! Houses creak and sometimes there’s no explanation for it. In an apartment, you just assume it was the person next door. I now also have three floors to check when I’m freaked out. Before I would just check our room and that was pretty much it. Someone rang out doorbell at about 8:30 last night and there was no one there when I answered. I think it was the first night that I was here and Tyler wasn’t with me, so it freaked me out. I know that it was probably just a neighbour or some teenagers playing games, but it still freaked me out.

5. Redecorating SEEMS fun – I love redecorating rooms. I love buying paintings and wall art and picking out accents and paint colours. The thing that I really don’t like is painting. I can’t believe that people do that as a profession. I’d kill myself. My back aches and the smell makes me nauseous. I love seeing the finished product and every time I finish a room, I feel like the house is becoming more “our house,” but I don’t know what I’d do without my Mom and Tyler helping me out.

Anyways, my plan is to completely finish the living room this week. I have to finish a little bit of painting, touch up the trim, hang some pictures, buy a picture for our big wall, and then just set up some small stuff. The dining area is done, but just needs to have the pictures hung up. Hopefully I’ll be able to post some more pictures next week!

Leave a Reply

