Book Review: Unearthly

I recently finished Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. I decided to read it since it received such a high rating on goodreads.com (which is definitely one of my favourite sites EVER).

Unearthly focuses on the life of Clara Gardner – a teenage girl who recently learned that she is part-angel. I know that sounds like a cliched teenage novel, but it was so much more than that. As part of being an angel, Clara has a “purpose” – something that she was put on Earth to do. It begins with Clara having visions of a young man watching a fire. Hand leaves it at that for quite some time and I think it was the right decision. It lets the reader think of what the real story is instead of just getting to the climax of the novel immediately.

There was so much depth to this novel and I couldn’t put it down. There were so many different relationships and characters that were so believable. I related heavily to Clara, and even to Wendy and Angela. I saw so much of Tyler in the character of Tucker and everyone can picture the guy from high school who everyone thought was a God – This is Christian. I had a love-hate relationship with Christian. I wanted him to want Clara and, at times, I wanted Clara to want him too, but he so wasn’t good enough for her. You could tell that he was hiding something big (I won’t spoil it though!) Tucker was the perfect decision for Clara and I rooted for them the entire way through. Usually I hate when authors add romance to a novel, but it was perfect here. It was Clara’s love that made the book the way it was. She loved Tucker so much that she gave up everything she knew just to save him.

Hand also threw in a lot of information about angels (mostly through the character of Angela and a bit through her mother) and you could tell that she did some research on myths. It made me think about the idea of angels and I even researched some stories that she related bits and pieces of.

Hand did a great job in developing the character of Clara’s brother as well. I feel like she could create another series just about him and that it might even encourage males to read them.

I am so psyched for the sequel! It doesn’t come out until January and I don’t know if I can wait.

If you like science fiction, fantasy, or even a good heroine novel, go out and pick up a copy of Unearthly. You won’t be disappointed.

Long story short: 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

