My Heritage: My Father’s Side…

As a continuation from yesterday’s post, here is my heritage from my father’s side.

Both of my Dad’s parents are English. I think there may even have a bit a little bit of native somewhere about 5 generations back, but I’m not sure. The Phillips family heritage is a little bit more muddled and very few of my relatives have been interested in geneology.

I met both of my great-grandfathers, but both of my great-grandmothers had passed away before I was born. I vaguely remember my Grandpa Clark, but I think that he passed away when I was about 7 or 8 because I just have brief flashes. I can picture what he looks like in my mind, but I can’t remember any interactions that I had with him. I remember my Grandpa Phillips a little bit better. My Dad used to cut his grass for him every week and we would go over with him. Grandpa Phillips always bought board games and stuff for us and always gave each of us a $2 bill for coming over to “help.” I only vaguely remember him too though, unfortunately. I think that he passed away around the same time as my Grandpa Clark, so I would  have been 7 or 8. He was definitely gone before we moved to Thorndale when I was 10.

My Dad’s family lived in Thorndale, ON for most of their lives. My grandparents owned a garbage truck company and did the garbage disposal for most of the small towns around Thorndale, ON. My grandparents are definitely junk collectors and have their yard full of stuff that they will never ever need. They’re not quite “hoarders” because the inside of their house isn’t that bad, but my Grandpa loves to go to auctions and buy things like 20 office chairs for $1 each. Neither of them work anymore, but they seem to enjoy their lives, so who are we to say anything, right?

My Grandparents had EIGHT kids – Holy crap, right? There were 4 girls and 4 boys. My Dad is the oldest boy. They currently range in age from 51 to 36. Can you imagine having a newborn when your oldest was 15? Yikes! There’s my Aunt Sue, my Dad, my Uncle Ted, my Aunt Kit, my Uncle Bob, my Uncle Dave, my Aunt Missy, and my Aunt Kim. Kim was only 11 when I was born! Almost all of them are married and have kids now. I have 15 first cousins and a whole bunch of second cousins. We have to hold our Family Christmas at the community centre in town because no one’s house will hold everyone. A lot of my Dad’s cousins come with their kids as well and now we’re all getting to that age where we’re having kids. There’s currently 3 second cousins from there, but I’d be willing to bet that we hit 10 in the next 5 years.

My Parents have three kids – all girls. I was born in 1986 and have brown hair. My sister Rachel was born in 1988 and has blonde hair. And Kelly was born in 1990 and has red hair. How did that happen? Both of my parents have brown hair, by the way.

My sister Rachel got married last year and had a baby girl in February 2011. My sister Kelly is engaged and is getting married August 11, 2012. I feel that our immediate family will also be very much expanded in the next 5 years. I could honestly see each of us having 2 kids each in the next 5 years and probably more for Kelly and I after that.

Anyways, that’s my family. It’s huge and loud and crazy, but I love them all.

My Grandparents, My 7 Aunts and Uncles, My Dad, and Tyler and I at our wedding

My immediate family at Rachel's Wedding

My Sister Kelly and her Fiance Chris

My Sister Rachel, her Husband Andrew, and their daughter Jenny!

Leave a Reply

