My Favourite Thing About My Job…

I don’t often write about work – mostly because a lot of what we do is completely confidential, but partially because I try to leave work at work (I’m not very good at this though!).

My favourite thing about my job is taking the ladies I support to Special Olympics bowling. They LOVE this so much and the smile on their faces when they’re dancing with peers and friends melts my heart. One of my ladies in particular LOVES to dance and sing and just be crazy. She’s usually so mellow when she’s at home that it’s funny to see her like this. She usually tells other people to stop singing and dancing at home, but you get her into that bowling alley and it’s like she’s a totally different person. I can’t help but smile when I take her bowling because it just makes me happy knowing that she’s happy. She’s quite the little sweetie pie (but like everyone, can flip like a switch) and she’s part of the reason that I love my job. She’s a great person and I love advocating for her and helping her to do things that she never thought possible. I think that’s my favourite part of the job description – advocating for others. I love ripping down barriers and helping these ladies do things that they never thought they’d be able to do. I love getting them involved in new activities and finding new things for them to do.

I wish I could post a picture of them for you, but I can’t – again, their identities are completely confidential. That’s also why I never refer to them by name. I really do love my job though and I hope that my temporary contract as their Program Coordinator gets continued. I’ll be going back on the floor with them in April, but I’d love to keep doing what I’m doing. I love being able to see them and still have day hours. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

