My Favourite Websites…

I spend the majority of my time online on about 3 different websites. I occasionally surf the internet, but I would guess that I spend about 90% of my time on just these three websites.

#1 – Facebook – I’m kind of embarrassed to admit it, but I spend a lot of my time online on facebook. I’m not OBSESSED with it like other people I know, but I do go on every day just to see what’s going on. Sometimes I feel like I find out more about my friends and family on facebook than I do from talking to them. I think it’s more that you don’t know what to ask about when you talk to them on the phone or in person, but sometimes I find out the craziest things on facebook. I’m not really into all of the games and apps they have on there now, but I like seeing what people are doing – even if I haven’t talked to them for a long time. It’s also nice to be able to talk to family without having to wrack up a huge phone bill.

#2 – IMDB – I often go on IMDB to look up a movie or an actor and then I spend about 45 minutes surfing around finding who was in a show with who and what my favourite actors are currently working on. Quite often, I’ll start at one movie and eventually work my way back to the original thing I was looking at. I’ve even gotten quite a few good recommendations for shows that I now love off of IMDB.

#3 – Goodreads.com – If you like to read AT ALL, I suggest that you get a goodreads account. I use mine constantly and it’s the best site I’ve found for book reviews and recommendations. You can connect with people all over the world and see what they’re reading and how they liked it. I’ve found a lot of books that I probably never would have noticed in the store that I have absolutely loved (such as Divergence, The Hunger Games Trilogy, and anything by Jeffrey Eugenides). You can message other people to see where they’re getting their books (this is how I discovered bookdepository.com – They have books at almost half price and they ship anywhere in the world for FREE). You can add your own books and write your own review or you can just fill out the number of stars you’d rate it. It’s a great site and I probably go on it the most out of every site.

What are your favourite websites? Any suggestions for a book/movie lover?

Leave a Reply

