Sharon Vanderhoeven

This past Friday, I lost one of the most amazing women I’ve ever met. My Grandma Sharon taught me so much about life. She taught me how to live in the moment and how to be happy no matter what your lot in life. She was always so full of life and so happy. She was my “kooky” grandma. She wore crazy socks (she had them for every holiday/occasion and then had TONS of funky socks with funny sayings or monkeys or tweety bird) and was such an incredible woman. She had a very hard life and lost her older sister when she was just a little kid. She had three kids before the age of 21 and fought like crazy to give them everything they needed. She went through a divorce when it was a new-ish concept and survived the death of her second husband and her mother in fairly close succession. She married my Grandpa Val 16 years ago and they celebrated their anniversary EVERY MONTH just so that they could celebrate their love. They had just celebrated 198 months on July 14th.

She was a truly amazing woman and I can only hope to be half as wonderful as she was. It breaks my heart to know that she’ll never meet my little girl, but I will tell her all about her amazing great-grandmother and how you should live life.

Grandma, I will love you forever and will miss you every single day. You were one of the most amazing people I’ve ever met and the world seems so much darker and colder without you. I will see you again someday. Rest in Peace sweet lady. I love you.

Leave a Reply

