2012: Year In Review

Another year come and gone… 2012 seems to have been the fastest year yet.

All in all, I’d say it was a pretty good year. Not every day was an amazing day, but there was a lot of joy and wonderful moments.

The very first day of 2012 was an amazing day… That was the day we found out I was pregnant with Olivia. I don’t even know why we decided to take a test that day. I was late, but had some complications prior to that day and hadn’t really thought anything of it until we got to that date and decided to take a test. I didn’t really believe the first positive, so we took another and, low and behold, it too was positive.

IMG-20120101-00246

I also got a promotion and started a new position on January 16th. I love my job so much more now than I did in my old position. I’m a Program Manager now. The job is so much better (though there’s often a lot more crap to deal with) and I get daytime hours, which is so much more conducive to having a family.

In April, we found out that we were having a little girl! We couldn’t believe it. I initially thought she was a girl, but then had a dream at about 8 weeks that convinced me I was having a boy. I would have been ecstatic with either though!

Ultrasound - April 11, 2012 - 1

In July, we learned that my sister was pregnant and that our family would be growing even more. We also lost my wonderful grandmother in July. She was only 68, but had suffered from COPD for years. I miss her every single day. Sometimes I’m able to go on like everything is almost normal and then other days, it hits me like a ton of bricks. Just the other day I thought that I should give her a call to see if we could come over for a visit and it slammed me that I couldn’t do that ever again.

sarah and grandma

In August, my youngest sister got married and we soon found out that she was pregnant too! Now there will be four cousins within just over a 2 year period.

kelly and chris wedding

In September, we welcomed our beautiful baby girl into the world. She is the sweetest, cutest, smartest little being I’ve ever laid eyes on and I wouldn’t give up a single moment with her for anything in this world. We also celebrated Tyler’s 27th Birthday and our 3rd Wedding Anniversary (I can’t believe it’s been 3 years already!).

Olivia Sharon Anne Doan

October to December were a complete whirlwind. Anyone who’s ever had a baby can attest that this is true. The days just seem to blend together and before you know it a month has gone by. My little girl had her first Hallowe’en and her first Christmas. I celebrated my 26th birthday and was super busy learning how to be a Mom.

0049

Our year was absolutely amazing and it seems like 2013 will be even better. My little girl is turning into such a little person. She has such a personality and seems well on the way to getting teeth and learning to crawl. It terrifies me a little bit that she’ll be crawling soon and that she’ll be walking and talking sometime this year. I’m not even close to being ready to have a toddler. I’ve seen how quickly my niece grew from a baby to a toddler and I’m half terrified half excited to see Olivia do that. I have so many hopes and dreams for her, but I’m also terrified about all the crazy things that could happen to her in this crazy world.

So, here’s to 2013. I’m wishing you all a wonderful year full of happy moments and memories that last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

