What’s in a Name

Coming up with our daughter’s full name was one of the hardest things that I’ve ever had to do. There were some names that I loved that Tyler didn’t and some that he liked that I didn’t. Then there were some that we both liked, but we knew someone with those names that completely ruined them for us. We had a lot of options for girls’ names, but not so many for boys’ names, so it’s a good thing that we had a daughter. Middle names were a problem for us too. We agonized over paying tribute to certain family members. I originally wanted to name her Olivia Maureen after my mother, but then my mother said that it was “cruel” to give a kid that name. Apparently my mother hated her name growing up and said she didn’t want me to “do that” to my child just to pay tribute to her.

Olivia, meaning “peace” or “of the olive tree,” came to us very easily. We had both always liked the name and we watch a show with a beautiful and smart character named Olivia in it. We also had no negative associations with the name.

Sharon, meaning “a fertile plain,” was my grandmother’s name. This was not originally going to be one of Olivia’s middle names, but after my grandmother passed suddenly in July, we chose this name instead of the other we had in mind. We both thought it a wonderful way to honour this wonderful woman.

And, Anne, meaning “He has favoured me.” Anne is both my middle name and Tyler’s mother’s middle name. It is also the middle name of one of my aunts and my grandmother on my father’s side. I think it goes very well with Sharon.

So, there you have it – Olivia Sharon Anne. The name of the most beautiful little girl in the entire world.

Olivia Sharon Anne

Olivia Sharon Anne

Leave a Reply

