Mommy Confessions – Part Two

There are a quite a few things that I never thought that I would do as a mother. Or things that just surprised the hell out of me.

– I hate hearing parents swear in front of their kids. It just seems so… I don’t know… unneeded, I guess. That being said, I’m pretty sure I’ve dropped the F-bomb in front of Olivia 100 times. I can’t count how many times I’ve said “Holy Shit” when she pees on me or starts pooping while I’m changing her. I know I’ve “Oh F-” several times when she’s just started throwing up ridiculous amounts of milk all over herself and me. I’m really going to have start watching out for this as she gets bigger. The last thing I need is her first word to be the F-bomb.

– I absolutely cannot handle the sound of my daughter crying. I freak out and LOSE MY SHIT. I feel so bad for my husband. He tries so hard, but the second Olivia makes a squawk, I’m in there taking her like a dirty shirt. Probably not conducive to getting her down for a nap, but I just can’t handle it. Same thing when she lets out a squawk at night. I’m up and at her bassinet before you can count to 3.
– Olivia lives in sleepers. Yes, we have a million little outfits and I “dress” her whenever we go out in public, but if we’re staying home, you can bet your boots that she’s in a fleece sleeper. But I figure “What’s the point?,” right? We’re just hanging out and playing and nursing and sleeping. That’s most of our days at home. She’s comfier and it is so much easier to just pop a few buttons than to remove a pair of pants when I have to change her. Especially since taking off her pants means that Olivia now realizes she’s wearing socks, which means they HAVE to come off.

– Sometimes I tear up just looking at Olivia, especially when she’s sleeping in my arms. Sometimes even when she’s screaming in my face. I just love her to pieces. She’s the cutest little thing I’ve ever seen.

– I HATE getting advice from other people about my child. I know that you have multiple children and they seem to be completely fine, but you don’t know what works for MY child. She doesn’t like to be “rough housed” and I know this. Same thing goes with people telling me how she should be napping. Yes, I’m aware that it is not great that my kid takes naps on me, but when the only other option is her not napping at all, you can bet that I’d rather have her sleep on me.

– I have totally gone to the bathroom with my kid on my lap. Sometimes there are days where she screams the second I set her down and it’s just not worth the crying. So into the bathroom she comes with me.

– I am TERRIFIED of having a second kid. Don’t get me wrong, I want at least one more kid (hopefully two!), but the idea of having to do this again with a toddler running around FREAKS ME OUT. How do people do it?

Are you guilty of any of these things or am I just crazy? Do you have any other “confessions?”

Tune in tomorrow for more Mommy Confessions!

2 thoughts on “Mommy Confessions – Part Two

  1. Cheeky Monkey has these things called sock-ons that go over the sock to keep them on. Kayla lived in them for the winter months, they were a dream!

    • I saw those the other day! To be honest, I don’t make Livi wear socks too often. She doesn’t really seem to notice she has them on until she doesn’t have pants on anymore, lol.

Leave a Reply

