2013 Reads

I decided to set a more realistic goal for myself this year in terms of my reading. Last year, I set the goal of reading 36 books – basically 3 a month. What I didn’t account for though was being pregnant (and thus, completely exhausted) or getting a promotion that changed my hours and took away a lot of my reading time. In 2011, I set the goal of reading 20 books and completely blew it out of the water, so I thought I would increase it to 3 a month for 2012. I didn’t even come close, lol. Not a big deal, but a bit disappointing when I saw it in writing on my goodreads account (Feel free to add me if you also have an account!). Reading is still definitely one of my favourite things to do, but I find myself reading a lot more children’s books these days (our current favourites are “Not a Box” and “Counting Kisses”).

For 2013, I plan to attempt to read 1 book a month. If I can surpass this, that would be awesome, but I’m not going to commit to something that I don’t think I can fulfill. Livi is such an active and alert baby that she doesn’t leave much time for reading until she’s in bed and that’s when I clean!

I have a whole bunch of books that I’ve purchased, but haven’t read yet and Tyler also bought me a Kindle Paperwhite for Christmas that I’ve been reading a bit on every night.

So far on my list, I have the following books:

The Essence by Kimberly Derting (ALREADY DONE! YAY!)

Boundless by Cynthia Hand (Started and close to finishing!)

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Maze Runner by James Dasher

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Hunting Lila by Sarah Alderson

Dead Silence by Kimberly Derting

Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Home Front by Kristin Hannah

Divergent #3 by Veronica Roth

I also plan to finish the Baby Center book I’ve been going through as Livi develops and hits different milestones, as well as the Good Night, Sleep Tight book I’ve been reading about sleeping routines.

As you can see, I have a wide variety of interests when it comes to reading. I like teen fiction, biographies, and historical fiction. I’m also a big fan of mysteries and dystopian novels.

What books do you plan to read in 2013?

One thought on “2013 Reads

Leave a Reply

